What is a Vegetarian Diet? There are different types of vegetarian eating patterns, differing
in the extent to which they exclude animal products. Vegans or total vegetarians only eat
plant foods, which include legumes or dried beans and peas, grains, seeds and nuts.
Lactovegetarians eat plant food and include cheese and other dairy products.
Ovo-lactovegetarians also include eggs. Semivegetarians are the least exclusive because
they do not eat red meat but include chicken, fish, dairy products and eggs with plant foods.